top of page
  • Writer's pictureIan Thompson

Quick Movie Review: King Of Thieves

Updated: Apr 20, 2020


Michael Caine is one of my favorite actors, so I anticipated that him combined with an excellent supporting cast would be a treat.

Unfortunately, I found the movie utterly boring, unlikable. and dumb.

SPOILERS!

For a start, the heist has all the complexity of a bunch of schoolboys finding a shop door open and nipping into to steal sweets. The supposedly seasoned criminals are utterly oblivious to CCTV cameras - which leads to the police identifying them very quickly. I think the movie title should have been The Incompetents.

Worse still, I found, was that the early camaraderie between the "old friends" suddenly turns nasty and diminishes into backstabbing. Surely if these people knew each other as well as we are to be believe, they could never have trusted each other to begin with..? Then, bizarrely, at the end of the film, after being caught, the crooks are all best friends again. I was baffled!

I don't know how closely the story is based on the real life incidents and how much has been fictionalized, and I'm not interested in finding out. All I know is that I wasn't entertained - I was bored and hated the movie.

1/10 ...Check out the original Italian Job instead!

bottom of page